J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

“Bedside – A Memoir of Care” is a Tribute to the Moms Who Sacrifice

bedside coverEnjoy this excerpt…

Mom sent me off to college with a hope and a worried look.  My parents couldn’t afford to pay for my tuition, and I had only graduated from high school a few months prior.  I wasn’t the most mature guy in the world.  Mom was sweet and brave to send me off, but she was also incredibly concerned.

Since she couldn’t send money regularly, Mom offered whatever else she could.  And since I was dating a girl at another college, I came home a lot that first semester.  This was where Mom could help out.

Most weekends, I would come home with dirty laundry and return with a basket of clean clothes.  This would save me a couple of precious buck’s worth of quarters each week, and I think Mom secretly enjoyed it.  I eventually took this over as I broke up with the girlfriend, but every single time I came home, Mom would ask if she could do laundry.  I, of course said yes.  Mom actually appeared to get upset as I took the clothes washing over myself, but she always looked forward to the holidays when she could do it herself.

I would also come home hungry and return with as much food as my Mom could provide.  Typical gifts were Mom’s amazing homemade sugar cookies and leftovers of whatever Mom and Sam had for Sunday lunch.

But there was one more thing Mom always offered.  At that time, my wonderful Aunt Alice worked at a Pizza Hut.  Their norm was to let the employees take home any leftover or messed up orders of pizza at the end of the night.  Aunt Alice would give Mom any pies that she could, and Mom would freeze them all week for me to take them back to college.

So each Sunday afternoon, as I would head back to good old East Carolina University (ECU), Mom would load me up with pizza.  But still there was a challenge.  I didn’t have a cooler, and even if I did, my little car didn’t have much room for it.

So, Mom devised a plan.  She would break the pizzas into their individual slices, put them in several gallon Ziploc bags, and then she would put them all in trash bags full of ice.  That way, I could transport the pizza easily, I could freeze certain bags, and my portions were pretty much already laid out for me.

That was always a helpful thing when this college student didn’t have a meal plan and had to eat each meal with two dorm fridges, a toaster over, and a microwave.

When it came to meals, the two Shehdan sisters took care of me.

Very excited to announce that “Bedside – A Memoir of Care” can be found everywhere today.  But to help you out, you can find “Bedside” at the following locations:

Amazon Paperback

Kindle

Nook

CreateSpace Paperback

PDF Download

September 18, 2013 - Posted by | gospel, men, publishing | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

