J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

Mom Sings Heavy Metal – An Excerpt from “Bedside – A Memoir of Care”

bedside cover sampleEnjoy this excerpt from “Bedside – A Memoir of Care”

Back in the mid-80’s, I would listen to a show on the local college radio station called “Chainsaw Rock”.  Anytime a song came on that I wanted, I would record it on a cassette tape, so I would always have these rough mix tapes full of 80’s metal lying around.

I remember driving the station wagon with Mom as we were making the last delivery of the day which typically was delivering flowers to the hospital.

One day, my mix tape was running through whatever songs I had recorded, and I was singing along.  Mom was doing something with her purse when all of a sudden, I heard her lowly sing, “I wanna be somebody, be somebody too.”

Nothing wrong with those lyrics, huh?  The funny part was that Mom was singing along with me to a song written by the band WASP.  WASP was a disgusting band that threw raw chunks of meat into the crowd and the lead singer drank blood out of a skull.  Whatever the shock factor, they were for it.

Here was this four foot, ten inch, pastor’s wife with a cute little bun on top of her head singing along to one of the bands that launched the whole PMRC censorship battle with Tipper Gore.

“I wanna be somebody.”

I decided not to embarrass her, but instead, I just looked over and said, “I love you, Mom.  You are awesome.”  She looked back, and said, “I love you, too.”

After that, she stopped singing, but every now and then, I would catch her humming along.

“I wanna be somebody.”

“Memoir” will be available on September 17th in multiple formats:

Paperback

Kindle

Nook

Availbe now in PDF Download

Every now and then, companies will make them available ahead of time.  Click and see.  Thanks.

September 13, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

