J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

The Cover Story Behind “Bedside – A Memoir of Care”

bedside coverWhen I wrote “I am my father’s son” in honor of Sam, I had the privilege of contributing an image to the cover that was in part designed by my friend, Jonathan Grauel of Blue Studio.  The cover came from a painting of my father’s piano recital when he was 18.  It was dark and in bad need of repair.  Jonathan wanted the opportunity to reinterpret it, and so his color and art were added to this great portrait of my dad.  The painting hangs on the wall above me as I write this, and it forever adorns that book.

As I began to think of a design for “Bedside – A Memoir of Care” in honor of my mother, my first choice for a design was Jonathan.  But here, I didn’t have another painting for the start.  I had plenty of photos, but none of them fit the bill.

But as the theme of the book came together, the image of my mother’s glasses on a bedside table came to mind.  She spent so much of her life caring for me and Sam and everyone else.  We lay in bed, and she sat beside us.  Jonny (as I call him) designed the perfect piece of art to accompany the feeble attempt on my part to capture Mom.

So, I present to you the stirring cover of “Bedside” that will be released in all formats on Tuesday, September 17th.  If you just can’t wait, you can purchase a pdf of the book now here.  But otherwise, paperback, kindle, and nook release next week.

September 11, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

