J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

My Daughters are Teaching Me at Evident Grace (notetaking that is…)

notes 1At Evident Grace, we create a unique children’s bulletin customized to each service and sermon so that our younger children can track along with what we are talking about each Sunday.  And as some of our kids get older, they can do those bulletins quickly and then they must begin learning how to take in the sermons as a maturing believers in Jesus.

When it comes to taking notes, everybody has their own system.  There isn’t one fool-proof way to digest what is being talked about.  My good friend, Jonathan Grauel sketches his notes into beautiful works of art.  My wife, Amy’s notes are quotes and observations written in various sizes and on various areas of the paper in a way that enables her to remember better.

My form is pretty boring.  I write down what I hear and casually make observations.   The good thing is that there is no right or wrong way to note taking.  What works, works.

notes 3Recently, my daughter, Meredith, has developed her method as well.  It involves pictures, writing in 3-D, and creating ways in which she can emphasize what she is learning.  She uses different colored markers to make her the notes her own, and when I talk to her about her the sermon, I can tell she is learning and taking in lots of good stuff.

Landry, my second of three daughters, wanted to understand what Meredith was doing, so graciously, Meredith created a template so that Landry could begin to take notes and understand more of the sermon herself.

I can’t tell you how excited I was when I found out all of that was going on.  So this past Sunday, I asked Landry to give me examples of her notes.   In Landry fashion, she has taken in the guidance of Meredith and made the process her own.  Even my youngest daughter, Emma, is beginning to tinker with note taking.   I couldn’t be happier.

The big takeaway for me is that I need to be more actively mindful when I’m listening to sermons, teaching, or instruction.  I don’t remember everything like I used to, so actively engaging the sermon would be a good idea for me.  I won’t be able to be as creative as all you see above, but I do hope to recreate a more active participation in what I’m learning.

notes 2And I have my little girls to thank for that.

June 11, 2013 Posted by | church, gospel, mission, missional, ruth | , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment