J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

Celebrating SK’s Anniversary and My Father’s Legacy

The planning for Sovereign King Church’s Six Year Anniversary began about a month ago.  We thought through invitations, the service, the meal, and a myriad of other details.

As I thought through many of those things personally, one of my expectations was that my mother and father would be in the crowd.  As I considered the sermon text and the themes of thankfulness and legacy, I found myself feeling very nostalgic.

So two weeks before my father died, I wrote tomorrow’s sermon.  In it, without having any idea of what my family was about to go through, I wrote an introduction that gave tribute to my father as a pastor and how his Godly legacy played a huge part in launching me into ministry and ultimately SK into existence.

So in our service tomorrow, we will celebrate all that God has done at SK, I will get to give tribute to my father, and we will get to dream together about what God might do next.  See you then.

So, again I invite all of you to attend our worship service tomorrow at 1030am.  You can find directions here.

Come as you.  No dress code required

April 21, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

