J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

Dear Garner

Dear Garner,

I love you.  I grew up in Smithfield, wandered to ECU, set up in Raleigh for a while, vagabonded through seminary, and found myself here.  And I’m thankful.

I love the people.  I love my home.  I love how I know nearly every nook and cranny.  I love working in Garner.

Not once in the last six years have I sat and daydreamed about ministry in a big city or ministry in some other part of town.  No righteousness on my part.  It’s just I’m stubborn that way.  I’m here.  I love this place.  I want to see this work.

“What is this?” you might ask.

  • I want to see God glorified in some large new way.
  • I want the name of Jesus to be used commonly (but obviously not as a curse word).
  • I want to see folks who have lost hope find it again or maybe even find it for the first time.
  • I want to see Sovereign King Church grow in sustainability and influence.
  • I also want to see the scab of self-righteousness pulled from this town.
  • I want to see the church (not just mind but all Gospel proclaiming churches) be a place of refuge for those in need and not merely a bunker from the rest of the world.

A step towards that for me is the beginning of the “In Garner as it is in Heaven” effort with SK Church and Aversboro Coffee.  I hope the town of Garner shows up at both places to explore how things could be different and to hear from scripture how things ought to be.

Join me on Saturdays and Sundays even if it is only to share your angst.  But perhaps, and just maybe, we’ll see God do mighty things here in Garner.

Thanks.

September 14, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

