J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

Celebrating 15 Years of Being Married to Amy

Do any of us really remember what we were like in 1996?  Wow that is a long time ago.  I was an English teacher just a couple of years out of college in Rocky Mount, NC.  I had short hair and enough free time to play guitar 2-3 hours a day.

Well, Amy and I were married 15 years ago today, and so many things have changed since then.  Throughout everything that a marriage brings, I have never regretted that decision or that day once.

I love you, Amy.

I wasn’t a pastor back then, and in fact, I had sworn to Amy and others that I would never be one.  However, being one now is not necessary to know that long-lasting marriages are rare.  Now, after pastoring Sovereign King for over 5 years, I know that persevering marriages are ultra-rare.  Now, more than ever, I don’t take us for granted.

It is not that we haven’t been through trials.  We’ve actually been through a ton:  career and job changes, infertility, multiple surgeries (shoulder, foot, hernia), financial struggles, starting a business and a church, five moves, seminary, long-term health issues like hypo—thyroidsim and poly-cystic ovarian syndrome, and the list goes on and on.  God has been incredibly gracious through all of them reminding us of His great love to us and strengthening our love to each other.

That love that God has strengthened in us comes from the simple fact that we like each other.  We prefer no one else’s company above each other.  Our relationship started out as a friendship that turned into flirting that blossomed into love.  That doesn’t mean that we aren’t blessed with many friends (we are), but we never forget that the friendship that deserves our highest attention is ours.

After pastoring for a few years, I know that not many marriages make it 15 years.  In fact, lots of folks will go through 2-3 during that time.  We take no pride in these years as we know our 15 are a testimony of God’s grace shown to us.  Without it, we would have wrecked this thing a long time ago.  But it does help to be married to someone you like.

I love Amy.
I love her smile and her laugh.
I love her undying confidence in me.
I love her sarcasm.
I love her shape.
I love her honesty.
I love her hope in Jesus.
I love her free spirit.
I love her wisdom.

I am blessed above all men.

April 6, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hi, Gordon! My experience is similar to yours. I too was an English teacher running away from God’s call to the ministry, and God used hard times, especially the death of our second boy with leukemia to re-direct our lives to seminary and the ministry. God has guided us through deep waters in our 47 years of marriage by his grace and love. He has guided me into retirement as a Christian Reformed pastor to write Christian books. Writing them is a blast, but trying to get them published is another story. My first book, Doubtbusters! God Is My Shrink! should be published this year or next. It involves the real me befriending two fictional unbelievers, Joe and Holly, and is a model for friendship evangelism and apologetics for the God of the Bible and the Reformed faith. Joe and Holly experience the new birth. Joe’s dramatic regeneration actually happened between me and my 81-year-old friend before he died.

    Anyway, your experiences reminded me about their parallel with my own. Would you like for me contact you when my book is published?

    Comment by Bruce Leiter | April 11, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

