J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

Vacation Musings

Vacation is the brass ring for Americans.  So often, the attitude is “work, work, work” just so we can go to and/or justify vacation.  There is often a buildup of expectation to get there and a dread about returning home.  I’ve experienced these at various times in my life.  I’ve worked only to get away and then dreaded to return.

 

This isn’t the case for me anymore.  Oh, I was excited to go on vacation, but I wasn’t jettisoning a life I hated to get to a mirage-like week away.  And I definitively can say that I don’t dread returning.  I wish this was the case for every pastor, but I know its not.

 

Part of this is because I pastor a great church in Garner, NC (Sovereign King Church) that loves me, loves each other, and loves our community.  Their desire to know Jesus and serve Him is amazing and unique.  They are not a perfect community, but that makes sense as no one in the crowd is perfect anyway.

 

My vacation was like an extended Sabbath.  It was time away from many constant demands.  It was massive amounts of time playing, talking, and reading with my wife and kids.  It was a chance to read a couple of books.  It gave my body the rest it needed.  It attuned my heart to pray more effectively for the people at SK.  The unfuddled brain time gave me clarity about issues that had been beyond my mental grasp.  Oh, and it was a lot of fun too.

 

Yet, I am so glad to be home.  I’m glad to back in Garner, and I cannot wait to worship with the folks at SK.  I feel refreshed and enabled to love and serve and tell folks about the hope and comfort that Jesus has secured for them.

 

It is good to be back.

October 14, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

1 Comment »

  1. Welcome back! So glad the vacation was restful… and that you get to come back to a hard but rewarding job that you love – because you were made for it. I’m only sorry Jamie, Myra, and I didn’t get to see the Duncan gang last Sunday.

    Comment by Tim | October 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

