J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

A Life of Mission and Purpose – SK Service Preview for 042510

Can any of you say these things about yourself?

  • I used to have the shortest temper in the world with my kids or with my husband, but now since I’ve really walked in repentance, God has given me patience like I have never had before.  I see God working in my life to be a kindler gentler parent or spouse.

  • I used to not think twice about taking a second glance at another woman or to look at things on the internet that  I know I shouldn’t look at, but since I’ve walked in repentance my heart and mind are much more sensitive to the temptations I face and I’m able to walk in obedience.

  • I used to be absolutely discontent all the time wishing I had better kids or a bigger house or more things, but since I’ve walked in repentance, I’m content with all that God has given me.  I don’t want for a single thing.

  • I used not to care about my neighbors at all.  In fact, I used to judge them for their political stickers on their car of the fact that they were living together and were not married.  But now, God is using me to show them the Gospel and my family and theirs hangs out and we have really honest conversations about God and the Gospel.  In fact, I would call them friends.

  • I used to see my day to day life as running through the motions, but now I see every single interaction as an opportunity to proclaim the Gospel and grow the Kingdom.  Once I repented of thinking that my day was actually my own, then God showed me the millions of opportunities I have each day.  God has given me relationships at the coffee shop, the grocery store, the restaurants we go to, on the soccer field, and practically every other place in my life.  God is using me in ways that I never could imagine.

If you can’t relate to any of those examples, do you wish you could?  Let’s find out why, why not, and how these things are possible this week at Sovereign King.  If you would like to join us, we will meet this Sunday at 10:30am, and you can find directions to our space at http://www.sovereignkingpca.net/1.2.html

April 23, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

