J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

Fly on the Wall: Megadeth and Slayer

Following is what I hope will be the first in an ongoing series about conversations I wish I had overheard.  Every now and then, you’ll read about two or three people getting together, and your curiosity will just be peaked.  You wonder, “What did they talk about?”  “Were they nice to each other?”  We often hear these nice sanitized press releases, but the interacted nuances are lost to us.  So enjoy the first in the “Fly on the Wall” series.

This morning, I read of a conversation between Dave Mustaine of Megadeth and Kerry King of Slayer.  Before going any further, I must admit I’m an unabashed Megadeth fan and was long before Dave Mustaine professed faith in Christ.  I always thought Megadeth wrote better riffs than Metallica, and though both had their sell-out period, I feel like only Megadeth found themselves again (that’s a post for another day).  Slayer, on the other had, was never my taste.  I respect their musical ability, but with songs entitled “God Hates Us All” and “Hell Awaits” I just never could get into them.

Apparently, King and Mustaine got together at a local TGIFridays (I’m not lying) to hash out their differences.  For a very brief time, King was a member of Megadeth, but in the past 20 years, they have not been close (more like enemies).  When Mustaine became a believer, he made some pretty harsh statements about Slayer, and King responded in kind.  A verbal war ensued.  However, now both bands are on tour together and they are trying to make nice.

This is what Mustaine said about their interaction.

“We just talked about the past, about the future, and a lot about stuff that is just private talk between two old friends that are trying to get to know each other again.

“I really, really had a good time seeing KK …I thought that the guy was going to start crying when we started talking and the guy realized who we were. I had a beanie and my hair tied up, and KK was in a hoodie with a beanie on top. So it wasn’t like we were trying to be noticed.  We were pretty well disguised and we left, shook hands, did a bro hug, and I walked off to my car and he to his.”

Here are a few of the things I ponder.

  • How do two very aggressive, talented, and famous men figure out how to be nice to each other again?
  • What’s the motivation?
  • How do a believer in Jesus and a singer for Satan find a way to be friends and work together?
  • Why in the world did they choose TGIFridays?

At some point, Kerry King will respond, and I’m sure he’ll say he never got close to crying, but I would love to have just been a fly on the wall.

This article also appears at the Raleigh Examiner.  Read it there and help me earn a penny.

January 19, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Heals Megadeth I recently wrote about Megadeth’s Dave Mustaine reconciling his relationship with Slayer’s Kerry… Now the professed faith of both Mustaine and Megadeth’s original bassist, Dave Ellefson, has […]

    Pingback by Jesus Heals Megadeth « J. Gordon Duncan | February 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

