J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

They Tried to Make Me Go to Rehab – Sermon Preview 12/13/09

Often, when an athlete injures them self, they have to relearn how to do the very thing that they were good at in the first place. You read these stories or see interviews on TV about athletes spending an incredible amount of time working out or relearning how to do certain skills because they have been injured. Now, none of us are professional athletes, but I’m sure many of us can relate to the whole re-learning process.

When I broke my right hand playing softball, I had to relearn how to hold a pencil without it causing me pain. And you know what? My handwriting did not get any better.

When I injured my knee playing football in college, I learned that my running style was incorrect, and so I relearned running so as not injure myself anymore.

The hardest relearning came when I hit my head and injured my shoulder diving into a swimming pool. I had to relearn how to sleep. My entire life, I had slept on my left side, but that was not possible anymore because it was my left shoulder that had to be repaired. Sleeping on that side meant I would wake up in excruciating pain. So I had to relearn to sleep on my right side.

Now, most of us need to relearn something at some point and time. And this relearning serves a couple of purposes. We relearn things because something is keeping us from doing them properly. And in the relearning process, we discover often that we had forgotten to do them correctly a long time ago. Relearning is pretty beneficial. It removes slowly growing errors while reminding us of the true intention of what we need to do.

That’s exactly what is going to happen in the passage that we are studying this Sunday. We are going to return to Zechariah’s song surrounding the birth of his son, John the Baptist. In doing that, we are going to see how the celebration of the birth of Jesus is really a good time to do a good bit of relearning. With that in mind, let’s try to answer this Big Picture Question:

Big Picture Question: How is Advent a time to relearn what so many have forgotten?

December 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Yes it is very true after a while everything tarnishes, watching some of the great ones in there prime when i was a child i saw DR. J looking back now i see the appreciation for his game. I see kobe has reached his prime his game has become more mental and he uses his physical down the stretch. I interviewed a ex-football player and his views on life were very interesting i look to share those thoughts in the months to come.

    Comment by GJ McRae | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. You are very welcome your i hope your thoughts and insight can reach many athletes in there prime to encourage them.

    Comment by GJ McRae | March 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

