J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

They Say It’s Your Birthday

birthdayI consider myself the most blessed of all men as I reflect on my birthday.  I began the day as I often do with prayer and running.  Today’s was in a cold wet environment of which I was unfamiliar, so coupled with some old Johnny Cash on the headphones, I had a fantastic morning.  It gave me moments to think about the blessings that God has given me.

 

I have the wonderful forgiving grace of my Savior, Jesus Christ.

 

I have a wife in Amy, and there is no other women on the face of the planet with whom I would want to be married.

 

I have 3 incredible girls in Meredith, Landry, and Emma.  They bring so much joy to my life, and I love returning home each day.

 

I have in Sovereign King Church a people I love pastoring, and there is no other church in the world I would rather lead.

 

I have great parents and siblings who love me and encourage me.

 

I am in great health.

 

I have great, intimate friends who love me and care for me.

 

This birthday above all is joyous because God has made me aware of so many blessings and I’m finally mature enough to recognize them all.

This article also appears at the Raleigh Examiner.

November 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Happy Birthday, Gordon! Hope you get a chance to celebrate while you’re up in PA.

    Comment by Tim Burden | November 11, 2009 | Reply

    • thx man. Praying for you and hope you guys had a great time.

      Comment by jgordonduncan | November 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

