J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

Dirty South

My hobbies have pretty much been reduced to two at this point:  running and writing.  Both feed each other, and both provide tremendous stress release.  Since re-launching this site, I’ve enjoyed taking daily process time to write as well as re-reading older posts from years gone by.  I’ve been fortunate to have a few things published online, and I enjoy my semi-regular contributions to the Garner Citizen.

Recently, I’ve wanted to interact with more folks through my writing and was wondering how to make that happen.  Then, I stumbled upon the Raleigh Examiner, a nationally syndicated online newspaper that has regional hubs.  They had an opening for an Evangelical Contributor, and once I submitted a few sample articles, they accepted.

Going forward, my posts will appear on multiple platforms:  posts will always show up here, but they might also show up at the Garner Citizen, or at the Raleigh Examiner.  I’m pretty excited to see where all of this goes (and thankful that I can re-use old content as well).  Hopefully, I won’t bore you guys with the same old things over and over again, but it will be enjoyable to see what the feedback will be.

I’ve included the beginning of my first post, “Living a Dirty Life,” with a link to the remainder of the article below.  Enjoy.

Dirty JobsI recently proclaimed to the folks at Sovereign King Church that if their life is too put together to help those whose lives are too messy then they’ve missed the lesson of Romans 3.  That chapter speaks to how no one has any right to brag before God as no one is righteous; no not one.  Even after a child of God begins to grow in obedience as promised in scripture, we are reminded in Romans 3 with this:  “Then what becomes of our boasting? It is excluded. By what kind of law? By a law of works? No, but by the law of faith.”  Paul’s point is that there is no room for boasting because we don’t gain anything before God by works of the law.  All access to God and His work through Christ come by faith.  The child of God does grow in doing righteousness, but it is never that righteousness by which we recommend ourselves to God; it is always Jesus’.

You can find the remainder of the article at http://bit.ly/pxpY3

September 2, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. me gusta mucho Gordon

    Comment by Dena | September 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

