J. Gordon Duncan

Culture, Business, Fitness, Etc.

Like Father, Like Son

I am my father’s son and am proud of it.  For example, my father, affectionately called Sam, is a musician, and I am a musician.  He found the love of his life and married her as soon as he could.  I did the same, and though my 13 years of marriage don’t match his 54, I am well on my way to being happily married for the rest of my life.  My father worked 2-3 jobs to get through seminary, and so did I.  Sam happily became a pastor and found great joy in seeing people come to know Christ.  I am happily a pastor after declaring that I would never be one, but I have come to find the same joy that my Father had.

Now I also inherited some of my dad’s shortcomings as well, but out of respect to him, I’ll just own them instead of detailing them for you.  Any of my sinful proclivities are mine without much blame to him, and most of you know my shortcomings without me having to go through them one by one.

But in most ways, I am my father’s son and am proud to be so.

In the big picture, I don’t have any grand complaints about my dad, and I know that I am blessed in that.  Not everybody, in fact very few people, can say that they are thankfully just like their father.  Graciously, as we grow older, it is wiser to consider the strengths and talents of our Dads praying that God equip us with them.  As we consider their weaknesses, we pray that God would redeem them to obedience and strengths in our lives.

Either way, we are our fathers’ sons and daughters.  For some, that is a hopeful prospect and for others, it is a dreadful one.  But here is the good news:  when we place our faith in Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of sins, a wonderful re-parenting takes place.  Our Heavenly Father is our Father.  He is not weak as earthly fathers are, and He is stronger and more pure than any earthly father could hope to be.  The wonderful promise of Jesus’ High Priestly Prayer in John 17 comes to life in our lives because Jesus prayed, “Father, loved them as you have loved me.”  We experience the love and affection of God the Father to Jesus the Son in our lives.  He calls us His, and we call Him ours.

So, just as we reflect our earthly fathers, we are to reflect our Heavenly Father by imitating our brother, Jesus.  Jesus Himself declared this in John 8:42:  Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and I am here. I came not of my own accord, but he sent me.”

Living as the Father calls us to live and loving the Father as He has called us to love is done by imitating the true Son, Jesus Christ.  Understanding this is what we hope to accomplish at Sovereign King this Sunday, so in light of that, we are going to ask this Big Picture Question: 

Big Picture Question:  Who does God call His children to be and how does God equip us to be what He has called us?

If you would like to join Sovereign King for worship, we meet each Sunday at 10:30am, and you can find directions at http://www.sovereignkingpca.net/1.2.html

samandgordo

August 21, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. It is good that you do not take your earthly father for granted, G. In the end, all of us fathers are mere men, and as such can be either a blessing or a bane to others. I can only hope that I learn from the example of my Heavenly Father on how to be a dad.

    I only met Sam once so far and enjoyed the brief few sentences we exchanged. I am glad you maintain a good relationship with him and your mom.

    Comment by Troy LaPlante | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. On another note, Sam is having a small surgical procedure on Tuesday to repair his defibrillator. All prayers all welcome.

    Comment by jgordonduncan | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. Gordon, This blog is honoring to Sam and your Father in Heaven. Sam has to be proud of you and what God has done with your life. Definitely praying for Sam during his procedure on Tuesday.

    Comment by mikeaskew | August 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

